Home      About Us      Calendar       Scholarship       Artists      Membership       Gallery       Newsletter       Links      Contact Us  
Evelyn and Ralph Thompson Memorial Scholarship
Evelyn and Ralph Thompson: a tribute
Conditions of entry
2019 winners
2018 winners
2016 winners
2015 winners
2014 winners
2013 winners
2012 winners
Past winners
Evelyn and Ralph Thompson Memorial Scholarship
The Evelyn and Ralph Thompson Memorial Scholarship is an annual scholarship awarded to a singer or accompanist showing outstanding potential for further study in Australia or overseas.

The Scholarship is administered by Art Song Perth, and adjudicated by a panel of prominent Australian musicians.

· First prize $3,000
· Runner up $1,500
· Anne Watson Encouragement Award $500
· Audience prize $350

Entrants are asked to submit a varied, twenty minute recital programme of art song (arias, operatic or oratorio, are excluded) as well as a detailed study proposal indicating how they would use the award, and what benefits they hope to achieve.

Final judging takes place at a special public recital in which contestants perform items from their programme selected by the adjudicators.

Contestants are judged on:
  • Performance
  • Choice of repertoire
  • Technique
  • Potential
  • Presentation and personality
  • Study plan
Winners are required to perform at an Art Song Perth recital within two years of receipt of scholarship. For further details on how to apply, see conditions of entry.

2019 winner,
Jake Bigwood
2018 winner,
Lachlann Lawton
2016 winner,
Louis Hurley
2015 winner,
Carly Power